Plain Jane part 1

Plain Jane

Written by Valerie Cotnoir

Hi, my name is Jane Grace Roberts, I turned 12 last November (it’s March, in case you’re wondering), my favorite food is spinach, and, well, there really isn’t any other word to describe me except…plain. Sensible and responsible might work, but ask anyone in my 7th grade class and they’ll tell you. “Plain.”

I’m so plain they nicknamed me, ‘Plain Jane’. Which, when you think about it, isn’t so bad of a nickname, if you think of all the other things I could be called. But at my school, Hendricks Middle School, ‘plain’ is as worse as you can get.

When I started middle school in the 6th grade, I was perfectly confident in a good, happy, successful year. I should have stayed home. The only reason I quit homeschooling (I had been homeschooled since kindergarten) was because my best friend Bailey was going there and I thought it would be much more fun spending every day with her. Of course, though, she moved to Oregon a month after school started (I live in Mississippi), so I had nobody. Now, Bailey and I still e-mail and phone and we’re still best pals, but that’s not the point. I still have friends, there’s Gabby and Audrey and…well, there was…no wait, she moved away, too…but there’s…oh yeah…well, anyway, I have friends, but that’s not really the point either.

There I was, a month into school, knowing nobody thinking this was going to be a great year. It turned out to be only one thing, successful. I got straight A’s, as expected, but I spent the worst year of school ever! During the summer, I tried talking to Mom about homeschooling me again, but she said she was too busy homeschooling Hadley and Hannah (my eight year old twin sisters) and taking care of Henry (my one year old baby brother). So I went to school again, reluctantly, very reluctantly.

You see, at my school, looks is what matters. Not grades or kindness, looks. Even if you have a big nose or gray eyes or a pale complexion it won’t matter as long as you have a pair of purple sunglasses (or a Justin Bieber t-shirt or ripped jeans, you get it, right?). There are cliques at my school, groups of kids that decide whether a person in school is worth joining their group or not. If you’re not in a clique, you’re probably in the group of kids I call “individuals”…you know, me.

Now, before I continue, I want to get one thing straight. I don’t care a thing about looks, it doesn’t matter! I don’t like the whole “including or excluding” thing either, it’s not nice. I don’t like my whole school period, but I have to go. Anyway, as long as I use the gifts God gave me to bring Him glory, nothing else matters. Hint: I love to paint and everyone (who looks at my paintings) say they’re good.

All right, let’s go on. I am ordinary. I have light brown hair, dark brown eyes, a few freckles across the nose, skin still a bit tanned from trips to the pool during the summer, I am about five feet and my hands and feet are average size, I even have black glasses! See? I’m average, just a regular person. There is nothing wrong with that for me…problem is it’s what’s wrong for the cliques.

I wear normal things…solid colored t-shirts, normal jeans, white sneakers, white socks, silver ponytail holder, no make-up, not even lip gloss or nail polish. I am the complete opposite of my middle school…sadly, the complete opposite of what the cliques want. Sorry if you’re not really interested in a story about a normal girl, but I thought it was time people heard my side of everything. Anyway, here’s my story.

To Be Continued…

4 thoughts on “Plain Jane part 1

  1. VALERIE!!!!!! THAT IS INCREADABLE!!!!!!!!!!! I HAVE 2 READ THE REST OF IT!!!! WHEN R U POSTING MORE ASHLYN & VALERIE??????????

    • Haley!!! 😀 I am so glad that you like it! I have written lots of short stories and started writing lots of novels. I hope to be an author someday. 🙂 Ashlyn has posted the rest of the story tonight, so you can read it part by part and finish it!!! :D:D:D

Leave a Reply

